Native Tongue has signed Melbourne punk rockers The Smith Street Band to an exclusive worldwide publishing agreement.

The AU/NZ independent publisher’s first release with the band will be the quartet’s their fourth album, More Scared Of You Than You Are Of Me, on Friday April 7. Native Tongue also now represents the band’s previous releases, including 2014’s breakthrough album, Throw Me In The River.

The LP will be released in Australia via the band’s own Pool House Records / Remote Control Records, in North America via SideOneDummy Records, in the UK via Specialist Subject Records and in Europe via Uncle M Music.

Native Tongue’s MD, Jaime Gough said: ”The Smith Street Band have been a long time favourite at Native Tongue, so we are extremely happy to welcome Wil, Chris, Lee and Fitzy to the family. Wil has a penchant for cutting to the core of issues that affect our daily lives with insightful lyrics.

“The band don’t compromise for anyone and their DIY ethos has seen them build a loyal fanbase around the world. The forthcoming album is only going to see this grow and we are excited to join the team.”

Drummer/vocalist Chris Cowburn said: “Jaime and Matt (Tanner, Head of Creative Services) have been awesome and lovely to deal with and we can’t wait to start working with them. Now Wil’s lifelong dream of having his music played on the footy is within our fingertips!”

The signing follows the inking of Native Tongue’s sub-publishing partnership with US publishing house Wixen Music. The deal means over 4,000 artists and publishing companies, including iconic acts The Doors (pictured), Tom Petty, Journey and Santana, along with the Beach Boys’ Brother Publishing, will now be represented in Australia and New Zealand by Native Tongue.

TOURING APRIL/MAY/JUNE

Saturday 22 April – triple j’s One Night Stand
Friday 28 April – Groovin The Moo, Wayville
Saturday 29 April – Groovin The Moo, Maitland – SOLD OUT
Sunday 30 April – Groovin The Moo, Townsville
Saturday 6 May  – Groovin The Moo, Bendigo – SOLD OUT
Sunday 7 May – Groovin The Moo, Canberra – SOLD OUT
Saturday 13 May – Groovin The Moo, Bunbury
Thursday 25 May – Odeon Theatre, Hobart (licensed/all ages)
Friday 26 May – Enmore Theatre, Sydney (licensed/all ages)
Saturday 27 May – The Tivoli Theatre, Brisbane
Friday 2 June – Forum Theatre, Melbourne – NEW SHOW ADDED
Saturday 3 June – Forum Theatre, Melbourne – SOLD OUT
Friday 9 June – Metro City, Perth
Saturday 10 June – Thebarton Theatre, Adelaide (licensed/all ages)